MacOS Monterey: How to wipe all data and reset a Mac device

With the launch of the M1 chips in 2020, Apple has brought the world of Macs a lot closer to that of iPhones. It could not be otherwise with a chip like M1 that was developed starting from those, very powerful, that have equipped iPhones for years, and many concrete benefits are beginning to be seen.

Erasing data resetting a Mac

For a long time (too long, according to some), erasing all data and resetting a Mac was an inexplicably complex operation. Nothing to do, for example, with respect to what is needed on the iPhone, just to stay in the Apple environment, where just open the settings, go to General and Transfer or initialize iPhone and the reset is done. But evidently Apple has taken note of the difficulties and with the Mac M1 has worked on the simple deletion of data and consequent reset, and now the procedure is very simple. Here is a simple step by step guide to understand how to wipe all data and reset a Mac.

How to verify that you can proceed

To take advantage of the new procedure, it is first of all necessary to verify that you have a Mac updated to the latest version of the operating system, i.e. macOS Monterey, and equipped with an M1 chip. To do this, just click on the apple icon in the upper left corner of any screen, and a second on About this Mac. If inside the window it says macOS Monterey and, just below, beside of the Mac model the abbreviation M1, then you can take advantage of this simple method to erase data and reset the Mac.

How to wipe data and reset Mac

At this point we must again bring up the apple icon at the top left and this time recall the System Preferences item . Alternatively, you can take advantage of the Spotlight search, typing, in fact, “system preferences” or open the Applications folder and start System Preferences from there. The first method is the fastest, but all three lead to the same result.

Once the window is open, you have to go with the mouse pointer on the item just next to the apple – always the same, top left corner – System Preferences and then locate the item Initialize contents and settings… After clicking, the system will ask to enter the administrator password , to be sure that we really intend to open this “delicate” menu.

Once you have identified yourself as an administrator with your password, the next window presents a series of options. The one of our interest to erase data and reset the Mac is in the lower right corner of the same window, which is the Continue button . At this point the interface asks you to enter another password, this time that of the iCloud account, so to speak the same one used to authorize the download of any application.

This is the last step , because after having entered the correct password a last warning informs about the consequences of the action: if you really want to delete the data and reset the Mac, you have to confirm to start the process, which is automatic. At the end, you are greeted by the setup wizard, the one that is found, so to speak, on any Mac just purchased.